This is a public Forum  publicRSS

Topic

    Andre Sena
    OK vs Save option in WS ribbonAnswered
    Topic posted August 11, 2017 by Andre SenaRegular 
    59 Views, 1 Comment
    Title:
    OK vs Save option in WS ribbon
    Content:

    Hi there,

    Does anyone know about the difference between the OK and Save buttons displaying on the ribbon attached?

    Here's what happening:

    • I am using a Custom Type (aka custom object) workspace which has a parent-child relationship with the Standard Type (standard object) workspace.
    • when I add a New e-Form (as you can see on the video also attached), it opens the custom WS (where I have two required fields) and when I hit Save, the WS displays a pop-up saying the fields are required. BUT, if I click OK, then I come back to the standard workspace where I can save the incident, so the e-Form (custom WS) is also saved even though there are required fields.
    • Those two required fields are also being used under other tabs (that are hidden) within that same workspace.

    Any thoughts on why the behaviors are different? Is there any way to make sure that the OK button, when clicked, can do the same as a save button at least when it comes to verifying if there's any required fields and that they need to be selected/populated?

    Thanks,

    Andre.

     

    Image:

    Best Answer

    Diana Hunt

    Hi Andre,

    The OK check and Cancel icon in the ribbon behaves similarly as the green check and cancel buttons on the child tab in the work group. The Ok and Cancel icons only display on the secondary workspace ribbon or tab. Here is the definition of each. Unfortunately at this time there is not a way to have the Ok behave the same as the Save button. 

    • OK—Clicking this button accepts the changes you have made and closes the sub-tab. However, it does not save changes to the database until you click the Save or Save and closes button on the message templates ribbon. (Primary Tab)
    • Cancel—Clicking this button closes the sub-tab if you haven’t made changes to the message template. If you have made changes, a message asks if you want to save your changes.

    Thanks,
    Diana

    Answer

     

    • Diana Hunt

      Hi Andre,

      The OK check and Cancel icon in the ribbon behaves similarly as the green check and cancel buttons on the child tab in the work group. The Ok and Cancel icons only display on the secondary workspace ribbon or tab. Here is the definition of each. Unfortunately at this time there is not a way to have the Ok behave the same as the Save button. 

      • OK—Clicking this button accepts the changes you have made and closes the sub-tab. However, it does not save changes to the database until you click the Save or Save and closes button on the message templates ribbon. (Primary Tab)
      • Cancel—Clicking this button closes the sub-tab if you haven’t made changes to the message template. If you have made changes, a message asks if you want to save your changes.

      Thanks,
      Diana